Join INFINITI & Take a Timeout to Vote for Your Favorite NCAA Coach

INFINITI enters NCAA basketball’s most exciting and competitive season with a new campaign that asks coaches, students, alumni and fans to participate in defeating everyone’s rival – cancer – by taking a “timeout for the win” (#TIMEOUTFTW).

The INFINITI campaign comes to life through partnerships with the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), NCAA, ESPN, and the American Cancer Society. Between Jan. 14 and March 11, 48 NCAA Division I men’s basketball coaches will compete for fan votes to win the bragging rights and the highest percentage of the $600,000 INFINITI will donate to Coaches vs. Cancer, a nationwide collaboration between the American Cancer Society and the NABC.

“Men’s basketball coaches know that timeouts can be crucial factors in winning games and they also know that the INFINITI ‘timeout for the win’ campaign is critical in winning the battle to cure cancer,” said Jim Haney, NABC Executive Director. “We are extremely grateful to have the continued generosity of INFINITI and hope that college basketball fans across America will take part and vote to support their teams and coaches.”

The competition harnesses the competitive nature of fans, schools and coaches so that, regardless of their biggest on-court rivals, everyone comes together in the fight against cancer. While only one coach will earn the ultimate bragging rights, INFINITI has guaranteed a total donation of $1 million to the American Cancer Society at the season’s end.

“All of us at the American Cancer Society and Coaches vs. Cancer are excited for this expanded partnership with INFINITI. Coaches around the country have been impacted by cancer and together with their teams and fans are truly helping us attack this disease from every angle,” said Sharon Byers, Chief Development, Marketing and Communications Officer for the American Cancer Society. “This campaign and the support of INFINITI will help us save more lives from cancer, and we deeply appreciate this commitment to fight our biggest rival.”


Throughout the two months, fans will determine the winner by voting at Fans can also cast additional votes on social media by posting a photo of them taking a timeout and including #TIMEOUTFTW with their coach’s social handle or the hashtag: #CoachFirstNameLastName.

“Now in our ninth year in partnership with the NABC, NCAA and ESPN, we look forward to another successful season of raising money for the American Cancer Society,” said Phil O’Connor, Director, INFINITI Marketing Communications and Media. “We encourage fans to take a timeout from their daily lives to vote for their favorite coaches in this friendly competition that supports the fight against cancer.”

$360,000 will be donated to Coaches vs. Cancer in the name of the coach with the most votes at the end of the season. The remaining funds will be divided between the 2nd and 3rd place and donated to Coaches vs. Cancer on their behalf.

The challenge is also promoted across ESPN digital and broadcast networks including ESPN, ESPN2, and several social media platforms.

2019 participating coaches:

  1. Arizona State University coach Bobby Hurley
  2. Baylor University coach Scott Drew
  3. Clemson University coach Brad Brownell
  4. Colorado State University coach Niko Medved
  5. Creighton University coach Greg McDermott
  6. Davidson College coach Bob McKillop
  7. Georgia State University coach Ron Hunter
  8. Georgia Tech coach Josh Pastner
  9. Iowa State University coach Steve Prohm
  10. Kansas State University coach Bruce Weber
  11. Middle Tennessee State University coach Nick McDevitt
  12. Northwestern University coach Chris Collins
  13. Oakland University coach Greg Kampe
  14. Ohio State University coach Chris Holtmann
  15. Old Dominion University coach Jeff Jones
  16. Providence College coach Ed Cooley
  17. Purdue University coach Matt Painter
  18. St. Joseph’s University coach Phil Martelli
  19. St. Louis University coach Travis Ford
  20. Stanford University coach Jerod Haase
  21. State University of New York at Buffalo coach Nate Oats
  22. Syracuse University coach Jim Boeheim
  23. Temple University coach Fran Dunphy
  24. Texas Christian University coach Jamie Dixon
  25. The University of Texas at El Paso coach Rodney Terry
  26. University of Alabama coach Avery Johnson
  27. University of Colorado coach Tad Boyle
  28. University of Connecticut coach Dan Hurley
  29. University of Florida coach Mike White
  30. University of Illinois coach Brad Underwood
  31. University of Iowa coach Fran McCaffery
  32. University of Maryland coach Mark Turgeon
  33. University of Miami coach Jim Larrañaga
  34. University of Minnesota coach Richard Pitino
  35. University of Missouri coach Cuonzo Martin
  36. University of Missouri – Kansas City coach Kareem Richardson
  37. University of Nebraska coach Tim Miles
  38. University of Nevada coach Eric Musselman
  39. University of North Carolina coach Roy Williams
  40. University of Notre Dame coach Mike Brey
  41. University of Oklahoma coach Lon Kruger
  42. University of Oregon coach Dana Altman
  43. University of Pacific coach Damon Stoudamire
  44. University of Tennessee coach Rick Barnes
  45. Vanderbilt University coach Bryce Drew
  46. Villanova University coach Jay Wright
  47. West Virginia University coach Bob Huggins
  48. Wichita State University coach Gregg Marshall

Share This Story...